ANSWER: Apartment owners in California may not collect double rents. Your friends only owe from the time they vacated the unit until it was re-rented. If you know, or can find out, when the unit was re-rented, your friends may be entitled to a refund.
If you paid for June’s rent and returned the keys with purpose of allowing the landlord to landlord find a new tenant but not for breaking the lease, and then the landlord had a new signed lease on the 7th and collected rent. Then yes, you can get those 3 weeks back, it is illegal to collect double rent.
Likewise, can a landlord double dip? The landlord cannot double dip by collecting rent from you and the new tenant. You do not owe rent for those remaining months of your lease. If the place had not been re-rented, you would have remained liable for the rent for the balance of the term of your lease.
Correspondingly, can a landlord collect double rent in California?
ANSWER: Apartment owners in California may not collect double rents. Your friends only owe from the time they vacated the unit until it was re-rented. They should inform the collection agency and rental office of this fact.
Can a landlord collect double rent Ontario?
In Ontario, it would be illegal for you, the landlord, to set foot in the unit, without permission, so long as the tenant had paid for that time. If the tenant has already paid for that month and someone else moves in and presumably pays for that same month, then you’re collecting double rent.
What a landlord can and Cannot do?
A landlord cannot refuse to rent to persons in a protected class. A landlord cannot provide different services or facilities to tenants in a protected class or require a larger deposit, or treat late rental payments differently. A landlord cannot end a tenancy for a discriminatory reason. A landlord cannot harass you.
Is slumlord illegal?
Failure to provide basic repairs: Unreliable heat, broken pipes, lack of potable water, and substandard or exposed wiring are more than inconvenient—they are illegal.
What are my rights if my landlord decides to sell?
The owner’s rights As an owner, your landlord is within their rights to sell the property even if it falls during your fixed lease agreement. However, before they show the premises, they must provide you, the tenant, with written notice of their intention to sell.
How can I get my landlord in trouble?
Here are 5 common legal pitfalls that could get landlords in trouble: Unlawfully Evicting a Tenant. Mishandling the Security Deposit. Failing to Mitigate Damages if a Tenant Leaves Early. Giving Improper Notice to Vacate. Including Nonstandard Rental Provisions.
What can your landlord sue you for?
Some of the more common reasons a landlord can sue a tenant include: If the security deposit is not enough to cover the expense, you can sue in small claims court to recover the rest. Damage to the Property: A landlord can sue a tenant if the tenant has caused damage to the property.
How long do you have to live somewhere to be considered a tenant?
Any guest residing at the property for more than 14 days in a six-month period or spending more than 7 nights consecutively will be considered a tenant. This person must be added to the lease agreement. Landlord may increase the rent any time a new tenant is added to the lease.
Is a 2 year lease legal in California?
There, the law doesn’t allow residential leases longer that two years in duration. California has no restrictions on how long a landlord and tenant can commit to a residential lease. However, there may be practical reasons why the landlord wouldn’t want such a commitment.
Can my landlord kick me out for no reason?
Answer. Although you say that your landlord “evicted you” for no apparent reason, chances are you’re talking about receiving a termination notice, telling you to move within a certain number of days or face an eviction lawsuit. Only the court can order an eviction, and only a designated officer can carry it out.
What a landlord Cannot do California?
Under California Civil Code § 1940.2, a landlord cannot unlawfully force a tenant out of their apartment or home using the following methods: Engaging in forceful, threatening, or menacing conduct; Taking, depriving, or removing the tenant’s property from their home without permission.
Can you be evicted for no reason in California?
In California, a landlord can only evict a tenant for nonpayment of rent, damage to the property or a violation of the lease or rental agreement. In that case, the landlord can evict the tenant with a 30-day or 60-day notice to quit without saying why the tenant must move out.
What are my rights as a renter in California?
Tenants may withhold rent, move out without notice, sue the landlord, call state or local health inspectors, or exercise the right to “repair and deduct” if a landlord fails to take care of important repairs, such as a broken heater. For specifics, see California Tenant Rights to Withhold Rent or “Repair and Deduct”.
What are tenants rights?
The rights of a tenant As a tenant in a private rented property, your tenancy agreement (which should be co-signed by you and your landlord before you move in) provides you with a number of rights: The right to live in a property that’s safe and in a good state of repair. The right to live in the property undisturbed.
How much time does a landlord have to give a tenant to move out in California?
A landlord can simply give you a written notice to move, allowing you 30 days (60 days if you’ve lived in the rental a year or more) as required by California law and specifying the date on which your tenancy will end.
Can a landlord tell you what you can keep in your garage?
Subject to the above, normally a Landlord cannot tell you how to keep your garage a certain way. [The Landlord usually can only enter the property infrequently (1 or 2 a year with advanced proper written notice or if it is an emergency usually setforth in the Agreement].