Where is the first cervical vertebrae?

In anatomy, the atlas (C1) is the most superior (first) cervical vertebra of the spine and is located in the neck . It is named for the Atlas of Greek mythology, because it supports the globe of the head which is the skull.

The atlas, or C1, is the first cervical vertebra and is shaped to allow articulation with the odontoid process of C2 and the skull. It is unique in that it has no vertebral body. The posterior arches of C1 extend posteriorly and medially from the lateral masses to terminate in the short posterior tubercle.

Likewise, what is unique about the cervical vertebrae? There are seven cervical vertebrae in the human body. They have three main distinguishing features: Bifid spinous process – the spinous process bifurcates at its distal end. Exceptions to this are C1 (no spinous process) and C7 (spinous process is longer than that of C2-C6 and may not bifurcate).

Just so, which cervical vertebrae form the atlantoaxial joint?

The atlantoaxial joint is a joint in the upper part of the neck between the first and second cervical vertebrae; the atlas and axis. It is a pivot joint. There is a pivot articulation between the odontoid process of the axis and the ring formed by the anterior arch and the transverse ligament of the atlas.

Why is c2 called axis?

C2 (cervical vertebra): C2 is the symbol for the second cervical vertebra, which is also called the axis. It is so-named because the uppermost cervical vertebra (called the atlas) rotates about the odontoid process of the second cervical vertebra. The Latin word “axis” means axle or pole.

What are the 7 cervical vertebrae?

Cervical vertebrae. Position of human cervical vertebrae (shown in red). It consists of 7 bones, from top to bottom, C1, C2, C3, C4, C5, C6, and C7.

Which vertebrae allow for rotation of the neck?

The atlas is the topmost vertebra and with the axis forms the joint connecting the skull and spine. The atlas and axis are specialized to allow a greater range of motion than normal vertebrae. They are responsible for the nodding and rotation movements of the head.

Which cervical vertebrae is most prominent?

Unique Vertebra: C7 The seventh cervical vertebra, also called the vertebra prominens, is commonly considered a unique vertebra and has the most prominent spinous process.

What is the second cervical vertebrae called?

Vertebra, second cervical: The second cervical vertebra is called the axis. It is so-named because the uppermost cervical vertebra (called the atlas) rotates about the odontoid process of the second cervical vertebra. The joint between the axis and atlas is a pivot type of joint. It allows the head turn.

What is the axis in anatomy?

12520. Anatomical terms of bone. In anatomy, the second cervical vertebra (C2) of the spine is named the axis (from Latin axis, “axle”) or epistropheus. By the atlanto-axial joint, it forms the pivot upon which the first cervical vertebra (the atlas), which carries the head, rotates.

How many cervical nerves are there?

There are eight pairs of cervical nerves, twelve pairs of thoracic nerves, five pairs of lumbar nerves, five pairs of sacral nerves, and one pair of coccygeal nerves. The spinal nerves are part of the peripheral nervous system.

Where is the c5 c6 vertebrae located?

The C5-C6 spinal motion segment (located in the lower cervical spine just above the C7 vertebra) provides flexibility and support to much of the neck and the head above.

Are there vertebrae in your neck?

The cervical spine is the uppermost part of the spine, also called the neck. There are seven vertebrae within the cervical spine. The first two vertebrae of the cervical spine are specialized to allow for neck movement. C1, also called the atlas, sits between the skull and the rest of the spine.

What is the main function of the cervical vertebrae?

The vertebrae that make up the cervical spine are the smallest seven within the spinal column. These bones give the neck structure, support the skull, and protect the spinal cord, among other functions.

Where is the 7th vertebra located?

Vertebra prominens (C7) The cervical spine consists of seven vertebrae and is located at the base of the skull. Its function is to support the skull, enabling head movements back and forth, and from side to side, as well as protecting the spinal cord.

What are the vertebrae in the neck called?

Overview. These are the seven bones of the neck, called the cervical vertebra. The top bone, seen on the right of this picture, is called the atlas, and is where the head attaches to the neck. The second bone is called the axis, upon which the head and atlas rotate.

What is the meaning of cervical vertebrae?

Cervical Vertebrae Definition. The cervical vertebrae are the seven cylindrical bones, or vertebral bodies (C1-C7), that provide support and structure for the cervical spine. Save. Watch: Cervical Spine Anatomy Video. The vertebral body is the large portion of the bone that lies anterior (in front of) the spinal cord.